mon temps au maroc

Blog Post 12.

My time in Morocco. This is behind schedule. Sometimes, after condensed events (like a 2.5-day, 3 city trip to a different continent) I have to digest for a bit. I have to edit and comb through my photos. I have to think about all the things.

The trip felt like a superficial whirlwind. An educational and very beautiful one, yes, but a whirlwind nonetheless. In honor of the energy of my 58-ish hours in Africa, here is a list of what all happened:

  • I rode a camel
  • I saw the meeting point of the Atlantic Ocean and the Mediterranean Sea
  • I smelled many things
    • some good
    • some bad
    • some that can only be described as “new”
  • I used my exceptionally mediocre French skills (and was laughed at many times)
  • I went to a traditional Moroccan Pharmacy
  • Everyone is a polyglot (the 2 official languages are French and Moroccan Arabic. But most people also know Spanish and English)
  • I took photos of:
    • doors
    • clouds
    • cats- so many cats (Haruki Murakami wouldn’t know what to do with himself there)
    • alleys
  • I heard several Islamic calls to prayer in real life
  • Soup is part of every meal
  • I crossed a border on foot
  • I rode in a Ferry (once in calm waters and once through a storm)
  • I was reminded of how small the world can be in many ways
  • The tea is so good even though it’s way too sweet

Here are some photos:

I also learned that quick, large groups tours are not for me. I felt somewhat like I was watching a movie. Lots of busing about between the three northern cities we visited, lots of “free time to go shopping”, and very little depth into any specific sight. Albeit, it’s the best we could do given the time constraint and the general wants of tourists groups, but I think I’ll stick to one city per weekend moving forward.

Morocco is beautiful and the people we encountered were typically very kind. I am glad I spent a few of my days and a few of my dollars getting a taste of such a unique place. Under different circumstances, I would love to return.

Published by

kulanisol

Astronaut and over-thinker

One thought on “mon temps au maroc”

  1. All I can say is a surface view is fine because like an appetizer, you want more, which means you will go back for more. You will go back for more on your own time, your own rhythm, and with your own select company. You are now an explorer so you have much earth to cover. Love, Mean Tia

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.